Life is about Relationships

My first post I used to write about where I am from. For this post, I would like to write about who I am. I am a daughter, wife, mother, sister, niece, auntie, daughter-in-law, sister-in-law, friend, co-worker, acquaintance, and with the grace of God, a point of light in the world.

I always felt fortunate to grow up in a home where my parents loved each other. Honestly, they really, really did. I only remember one time, when my parents had this huge argument that woke this girl from a sound sleep. I never found out what it was about, I don’t ever want too either! Despite this event, it was evident my parents were in this marriage forever. This everlasting love that they felt for one another, provided only one disservice to me. Well, not really, but when compared to what my friends got away with, it seemed like this was the likely culprit. This came about in my teen years, when I was seeking the answers to life’s biggest questions. They made it almost impossible to get away with anything. They always had “each others back.” In hindsight, that was a good thing! I got just enough of my questions answered in life, while always being reminded to, “…behave and act like a lady!” These were the words I could guarantee I would hear from my father, each and every time I left the house!

My parents raised seven children. I have four sisters and two brothers. I am child number five. I hope in future posts to share some of my father’s ‘sayings’… he always makes funny analogies when he tells a story. My dad worked hard, at a job that tried and tested his very being, but he was also blessed to retire at the age of 52! It was clear that my mother, was the most important person in his life, he loves her beyond measure. Through his example, he taught me how I should expect to be treated by a man. He always told me, “Stay clear Victoria, of any person that doesn’t treat their mother very well.”

My mother was a stay at home mom… thank goodness! Can you imagine carting seven kids to daycare?! She has the patience of a saint. I do remember, when I was a child, she used to mutter under her breath, “You guys are going to drive me to drink!” I never understood what she meant by that then, because my mother was not a “drinker,” so I thought, what’s wrong with drinking? I love drinking. Of course I’m thinking along the lines of milk, water etc., but now that I am raising my own children, and have the wisdom of an adult. I’m finally able to connect the dots to what my mothers muttered breath meant. My mother taught me how to nurture and be patient, she was always sacrificing, always giving of herself, for the love she had for my father and her family.

These days, my parents call Maine home. They moved there about the time I got engaged to my husband. So knowing, I was never going to make Maine my permanent residence, my sister Lynn took me in to live with her family, while we planned the wedding. We have great times at my parents home in Maine. We are fortunate that after raising all of us kids, they still love having us around! We vacation there, enjoying every part of the 120 acres that is available for us to create memories. Allowing a place for us to ride the ATV’s and “get away from it all,” even if for only a week at a time. The kids love it, especially when we plan on going the same week as my sister and her family. Those times create a house full of 6 adults, 8 children and 4 dogs! So many smiles, so much laughter, a week of organized chaos at its best!

This is a picture of my family, at my sister Sabrina’s wedding. She is the “baby” of the family. The last of the seven children to officially go off and make a life for herself… no longer the responsibility of my parents. Our family has known much joy and has been blessed on many levels, by the example we received from two people, who fell in love for life! But, as we know, with much joy can come much despair. We have also suffered together as well, by the loss of my brother, by his own hand. This was probably the single most difficult event we have had to endure as a family, most especially my parents. This experience has shown me more prominently than I had realized before, that life is about relationships! Never take for granted the power you have to change the world. It is for this reason, I approach each day with the intention to make someone smile, and to be a point of light in the world!

2 thoughts on “Life is about Relationships

  1. Wow, Victoria, our upbringing sounds almost identical. My parents were so in love and commited to putting in the hard work to make their relationship, not only survive, but thrive. They instilled a love for God and people in us that shaped our lives. I’m so glad to have made your acquaintance!
    Blessings,
    ~Erin

Leave a Reply

